follow our awesomeness
  • No products in the cart.
Sidearea image Sidearea image
  • No products in the cart.
Sidearea image Sidearea image
  • No products in the cart.
back to top
  /  Vedic Astrology

Vedic Astrology

“Men Should take their knowledge
from the sun, moon and stars.”

– R. W. Emerson

What is Vedic Astrology?

Vedic Astrology, also known as “Jyotish”, which means “science of life”, has been practiced for thousands of years. This practice is the science of observing the celestial bodies that reflect their energy and light upon the earth, therefore influencing the course of human events.

As per Hindu astrology, there are twelve zodiac signs, nine planets and twelve houses. With each House and Planet representing some aspect of human life. Depending on when a Person is Born, the 12 Signs are distributed among the 12 Houses and 9 Planets.

Vedic Astrology must not be confused with Western Astrology. In Western Astrology, everything revolves around the sun. The relationship of the earth to the sun is the most important factor for Western Astrology. It utilizes the Tropical Zodiac, in other words, it measures the relationship of the sun to the earth’s tropics. Every new astrological new year begins on March 21st, on the start of spring, with Aries as the first sign. However, in Vedic Astrology, it’s focused on the stars rather than the sun. Therefore, they don’t have the same beginning and end as the Western Astrology. They believe that measuring the relationship of the earth to the sun is an inaccurate approach due to what’s referred to as the “precession of the equinoxes”. The equinoxes precede about 50 seconds every year, which means that every 72 years we lose an entire day in our revolution. This would shift around the signs providing an inaccurate reading.

Vedic Signs vs Western Signs

  • Mesh / Aries
  • Vrishabh / Taurus
  • Mithun / Gemini
  • Kark / Cancer
  • Simha / Leo
  • Kanya / Virgo
  • Tula / Libra
  • Vri- shchik / Scorpio
  • Dhanu / Sagittarius
  • Makar / Capricorn
  • Kumbh / Aquarius
  • Meen / Pisces

5 Elements

  • Fire ( Agni )
  • Water ( Jal )
  • Earth ( Prithvi )
  • Air ( Vayu )
  • Sky ( Akash )

Book A